Entries open for 2022 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

The 2022 Call for Entries is now open for the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize. We invite artists to submit images of their proposed or completed original, freestanding and wall mounted sculptures. The submitted art works must also be non-site specific, three-dimensional and constructed of durable materials up to 80cm in any dimension.

The Prize attracts some of our most exciting and innovative professional and emerging sculptors, with prize money awarded to winning artists across four categories: the main acquisitive award of $25,000; a Special Commendation award of $2,000; the Viewers’ Choice award of $1,000; and the Mayor’s Prize of $1,000.

The main Prize winner for the 20th Anniversary Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize was Northern Territory artist Rhonda Sharpe with her work Desert Woman with Mustache, Coolamon and Pretty Clothes. Mechelle Bounpraseuth was awarded the Special Commendation, the 2021 Mayor’s Award was awarded to Kate Coyne and second time finalist Michael Harrell received a Highly Commended. Caroline Rothwell was awarded the Plinth Prize with Christine Appleby taking out the Viewers’ Choice Award.

Key dates:

  • Entries open: 1 April 2022
  • Entries close: 8 July 2022
  • Finalists announced: August 2022
  • Exhibition of Finalists: 12 October to 20 November 2022

We are pleased to announce that the 2022 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize Exhibition of Finalists will now extend to 6 weeks in its beautiful permanent home, Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf.

Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf acknowledges that we are on the land of the Gadigal and Birrabirragal people, the traditional custodians of the land. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

Woollahra Gallery at Redleaf is proudly owned and operated by Woollahra Municipal Council