2023 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize

Exhibition: 28 September to 5 November 2023


2023 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize Acquisitive Award: Anita Johnson, Tenderness

Photo: Jacquie Manning

Special Commendation Award: Robert Michael Young, Cultural Cradle

Robert Young, Cultural Cradle

Photo: Hamish Mcintosh

Mayor's Award: Jamie North, Remainder No.52

Jamie North, Remainder No.52

Photo: Courtesy of the artist

Judges’ Award: Nathan Beard, Corsage

Nathan Beard, Corsage

Photo: Jacquie Manning

Viewer's Choice Award: Christophe Cornard, Intrépide | Intrepid

wssp 23 viewers choice winner.jpg
Photo: Jacquie Manning

View all 50 finalists


The 2023 Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize judges are Alex Seton – sculptor and previous Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize winner; Dr Kate Harrison – Chair, Copyright Agency; and Blak Douglas – artist and Archibald Prize winner.

Alex Seton

Alex Seton

Alex Seton is a Sydney-based artist who has exhibited extensively both nationally and internationally. Known for his marble carvings, Seton’s multidisciplinary artistic practice incorporates sculpture, photography, video and installation. The winner of the Woollahra Small Sculpture Prize (2009), Seton has been awarded numerous residencies and prizes, notably being the first Australian artist to win the prestigious Sovereign Asian Art Award (2020) and receiving the Mordant Fellowship to the American Academy in Rome (2019). Seton is currently a member of the National Association for the Visual Arts (NAVA) Artists’ Benevolent Fund Advisory Panel and the Artist Reference Group at the National Gallery of Australia.

Dr Kate Harrison

Dr Kate Harrison

Dr Kate Harrison chairs the Board of the Copyright Agency, which supports visual artists, authors, and publishers in Australia by licensing the use of images and text and generating and distributing copyright royalty payments from government, businesses, and educational institutions. The Copyright Agency also manages the Resale Royalty Scheme, and provides support to the creative sector through its Cultural Fund, including grants to visual arts organisations and artists. Kate is also a partner at the law firm Gilbert + Tobin, practising mainly in the areas of litigation and intellectual property.

Blak Douglas

Blak Douglas

Blak Douglas is a self-taught painter and performer with proud Dunghatti Aboriginal origins. Douglas has exhibited both nationally and internationally and received numerous awards including the Kilgour Prize (2019), the STILL: National Still Life Award (2020) and the Archibald Prize (2022). His work is held in such collections as the Australian Institute of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Studies, the Aboriginal Art Museum of Utrecht, Artbank, Art Gallery of NSW, National Gallery of Australia, National Museum of Australia, NSW Parliament House Collection, Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA), Manly Art Gallery & Museum and The National Maritime Museum.